Ready for some Mischief at Nationals

Some of you are very aware – though many of you have no idea – that I spend the bulk of my free time playing Ultimate Frisbee. My first forays into the sport were at summer camp, and my enjoyment of it is such that I have been intensely committed to it throughout high school, college, and now graduate school. The past 4 years, I’ve been playing with a local Bay Area coed club team called Mischief. We made it to Nationals for the first time my first year with them, won Nationals the second year, and placed 5th last year. This year we are hoping to win it all again in what is arguably the most competitive field ever seen in the Mixed division.

Few things compare to the feeling you get as you prepare to play in the biggest tournament of the year. You know that every game will matter, every team will fight, and there will actually be spectators cheering (or heckling). As you step out onto the polo fields in Sarasota FL, you marvel at the pristine, perfectly mowed grass whispering under your feet and know that it will be the cushiest landing you could ever hope for in a layout. And then you start thinking about the layouts – on offense, that moment when you know your only hope for catching that disc is to get airborne; or on defense, that complete commitment to denying the other team the disc. Just thinking about getting a layout defensive block is enough to get the adrenaline pumping. If I’m not scraped up and bruised, I’m not trying hard enough.

And I can’t wait.

From Oct 28-Nov 3 I will be with my team in sunny Sarasota attempting to win the coveted trophy for a second time. It’s going to be a battle and the outcome is uncertain, but one thing is for sure: my team has the most heart. If you want to follow along with the action, check out the championship website and Score Reporter.

One Response to Ready for some Mischief at Nationals

Leave a Reply

