Fruits of my labor

It’s Labor Day here in the U.S., which means most people who work 9-5 type jobs sit around, go to BBQs, and hang out by the pool. I checked up on my tomato plants, which took a bit of a beating during the move and had been looking pretty scraggly and withered, and was heartened to see that they are now flowering again, in addition to the handful of tomato fruits that survived and are now ripening.

As far as I can tell, I have one yellow cherry tomato, one large reddish-orangey tomato, and one orange and green zebra plum type tomato. One of the latter is supposed to be a Croatian Brandywine but I’m not sure which.

This is my first time growing anything, so it’s good to know that plants can bounce back from getting half of their leaves and fruit stripped off in the wind. Garlic chives are also really hardy (I brought roots back on the plane from my parents’ garden in New Jersey) – they grew thick and lush after only a week or two. Pork buns coming soon!

Leave a Reply

